This is the "Home" page of the "Nursing" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Nursing   Tags: nursing  

Nursing subject guide for GCIT
Last Updated: May 16, 2017 URL: http://libguides.gcit.edu.au/content.php?pid=273659 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Med+Safe

To access Med+Safe  click on the Icon and enter your Student Number and password as shown below.

 

Username: [Your student number]

Password: Password1    

 (You will be asked to change this password upon your first login)

All support enquiries should be directed to James Bligh at TAFE Queensland Gold Coast Library.

We strongly recommend that you watch the following 2.5 minute video which will show you how to login, retrieve certificates and more:

http://www.intellilearn.com/index.php/contact-us/learnforce-training/user-guides

 

HLTEN519C – Supplementary resources for AT1

For questions 4,10,12,13,14,15 & 16

 

Q 4. The doctor orders Frusemide IV 20mgs to be given at 1500hrs hours

Frusemide- LASIX (Australian)

Frusemide :(US based, sourced from TQGC library Nursing Reference Centre)


Q10. A medical officer has ordered a patient 40mmol of Potassium Chloride in 1000mls Normal Saline (premix bags) to run at 80mls/hr

Potassium Chloride- TGA

Potassium Chloride Injection, Solution (US based, sourced from TQGC library Nursing Reference Centre)


Q12.Heparin 5000units in 50mLs has been prescribed for your patient to run at 500units/hr with a 500unit bolus. (please show working out)

Heparin

Q14.Administration of additional IV electrolytes (not the ones already in IV fluids)  occurs commonly in acute care hospitals. What are some examples of electrolytes (provide at least 2) for IV administration and what type of IV fluid would you dilute these electrolytes in (please use the Australian Injectable Handbook for diluting information)
(Electrolytes are discussed in your Crisp and Taylor textbook -   the chapter that discussed “Fluid, electrolyte and acid – base balance, also the PowerPoint in additional resources titled “TAFE Fluid Shift”

Calcium Gluconate

Magnesium Sulphate  

Potassium Chloride 22.3% (2.23g/10mL) Concentrated Injection 

Potassium Chloride 22.3% Concentrated Injection 2.23g in10mL

In addition to using "Potter & Perry's Fundamentals of Nursing" as per above. 

 I. V. Therapy Made Incredibly Easy!

Fluids and Electrolytes Balance: Basics (Kanopy- video) Off campus Kanopy password is avaiable here


Q15. Please identify which drug schedule the following IV medications come under
• IV Gentamycin
• IV Frusemide
• IV Morphine

Gentamicin

Frusemide

Frusemide- TGA


Morphine Sulphate


Q16.Please state the storage requirements (including storage in a health care facility) for the following IV medications
• IV Gentamycin
• IV Fentanyl


Gentamicin

Fentanyl


Heparin-

Potassium Chloride-

Morphine Sulphate-


Other Resources


Medicine Schedules and Availability

      
     

    Welcome

                                                                    

     

    Key Databases

    Cover Art
    CINAHL Complete
    An international index of nursing and allied health issues.

    Nursing Reference Centre Plus
    Nursing Reference Centre Plus provides evidence-based information for quick reference at the point-of-care.

    Cover Art
    Joanna Briggs Institute
    Access to good quality Evidence Based and Best Practice Information

    Health source
    This full-text database offers a trusted source of nursing and allied health literature. Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition covers an array of relevant topics, including paediatric nursing, critical care, mental health, nursing management, medical law and many more.

    MIMS online
    MIMS online is a web-based version of MIMS. It includes full and abbreviated product information (PI), consumer medical information (CMI), product images with advanced searching options and DrugAlert, a drug interaction checker.

     

    Online Videos

    Kanopy
    Kanopy is an on-demand streaming video service for educational institutions that provides 12 million students and faculty with access to more than 26,000 films each year.

    Liaison Librarian

    Profile Image
    James Bligh
    Contact Info
    Phone: (07) 5581 8156
    Email: james.bligh@.tafe.qld.edu.au
    Send Email
     

    ProQuest Search

    EBL is a collection of 1,000s of eBooks. Type in keywords a specific author or title in the search box and Click on Search You will be prompted to log in with your Student ID and Password. (Your ID is your Student Number and Password is your date of birth as an 8 digit number DDMMYYYY)

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip