This is the "Suggested sources of Information" page of the "Suggested Sources of Information for Case Study Mr Marconi" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Suggested Sources of Information for Case Study Mr Marconi  

Last Updated: Apr 20, 2016 URL: http://libguides.gcit.edu.au/content.php?pid=591481 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Suggested sources of Information Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Case Study Mr Marconi Suggested Sources

These are the sources of information that we want you to use to answer the Clinical Questions.

They have been referenced using correct APA format (except for the go to page…. in the text books).

 

 

How To

Please Watch this short video before starting case study.

 

Case Study Mr Marconi

Question 1:  Atheroma Formation.     In Text Reference  Where This is   Located  
 Ballestas, H. C., Bowers, M. T., Hawkins, S. Y., Johnson, F., Jones, G. R., et
al.  (2014).  Cardiovascular care made incredibly easy! (3rd ed.). Philadelphia: Lippincott Williams & Wilkins. 
 Go To Table of Contents > 3 -Prevention and risk reduction > Risk factors      
           
(Ballestas, et al.,2014)
 Marieb, E.N. (2015). Essentials of human anatomy  and physiology, (11th ed.).
 Harlow UK.: Pearson Education Limited
 Go to chapter on the Cardiovascular System - A Closer Look. Get out the cardiovascular drano!     
  
(Marieb, 2015) Recommended text for this course
Woods, A. (2013). X marks the spot: Understanding metabolic syndrome.Nursing
Made Incredibly  Easy!. 1(1):19-27. Retrieved from the OvidSP database
http://ovid.tx.ovid.com
(Woods, 2013)
 Murphy, K. (2011). Cholesterol:the good, the bad and the ugly. Nursing made
Incredibly easy May/June 2011, pp, 26-34.  Retrieved from Ovid database
http://ovidsp.tx.ovid.com.           
(Murphy, 2011)
Question 2:  Neurovascular Observations
Tollefson, J, Bishop, T, Jelly, E, Watson, G & Tambree, K. (2012) Essential clinical skills.
 ( 2nd Ed.) Melbourne   Australia:  Cengage Learning. Page 90-93
(Tollefson, Bishop, Jelly,
Watson & Tambree
, 2012)
Recommended text for this course
Judge, N. L. (2007) Neurovascular Assessment. Nursing Standard 21(45), 39-44. 
 Retrieved from CINAHL database http://web.ebscohost.com
(Judge, 2007)

New South Wales Ministry of Health . (2014). Neurovascular
assessment practice guideline. Retrieved July 7,  2015. from The Sydney Children's Hospitals Network:
Click on neurovascular assessment
 
(New South Wales Ministry of Health,
2014)
 Question 3: Patient Preparation for X Ray         
 
 Australian Commission For Quality and Safety in Health Care. (n.d.)
Ensuring correct  patient, correct site,  correct procedure in general  radiology and ultrasound. Retrieved May 29, 2015 fromhttp://www.safetyandquality.gov.au/wp-content/uploads/2012/02/Protocol_GeneralRadiologyUltrasound.pdf
 
 (Australian Commission
for Quality
and Safety in Health
Care, n.d.)
Preece, M, H, Horswill, M, S, Hill, A & Watson, M, O.
(2010) The development of the adult deterioration detection system (ADDS) Chart. Retrieved May 29, 2015 from: 
 (Preece, Horswill,
Hill & Watson,
2010)
 Forbes, H.(2013). Vital signs. In J. Crisp, C. Taylor. C Douglas. & G, Reberio. (Eds.), 
Potter and Perry's fundamentals of  nursing (4th ed., pp. 658-702). Sydney, Australia:    Elsevier Australia.
Go to Ch. 31    Pages 658-702
 
 (Forbes, 2013) Recommended text for this course
 Question 4 :  Falls risk factors
 
 Oliver, D. (2007). Preventing falls and fall injuries in hospital:. Clinical Risk, 13,
 173-178. Retrieved from CINAHL database http://web.ebscohost.com
 (Oliver, 2007)
 Nazarko, L. (2015). Modifiable risk factors for falls and minimizing the risk of harm.
Nurse Prescribing, 13(4), 192-198. Retrieved from CINAHL database http://web.ebscohost.com
 (Nazarko, 2015)
World Health Organisation. (2004, March). What are the main risk factors for falls
amongst older people and what are the most effective interventions to prevent these falls?
Retrieved  from World Health Organisation Europe:
 
 
(World Health Organisation,
2004)
 Question 5: External Respiration and Gas Transport      
   
 Marieb, E.N. (2015). Essentials of human anatomy and physiology, (11th ed.).
Harlow, UK: Pearson Benjamin Cummings
Go to the chapter on the Respiratory System.
 
(Marieb,2015)   Recommended text for this course
 Driver, C. (2014) Understanding pneumonia: anatomy and pathology. Nursing
and Residential Care. 16 (3), pp. 136-141. Retrieved from CINAHL database http://web.ebscohost.com
 (Driver, 2014)

 Question 6 : Homeostasis of Respiratory Rate 
   
 Allen, K. D., Berger, N., Cameron, R., Conley, Y. P., Cooper, K., Easter, A., et
al. (2012). Anatomy and physiology made incredibly easy. Philadelphia:
 Lippincott Williams & Wilkins. 
Go to Table of Contents11 - Respiratory system > Inspiration and expiration > Internal and external respiration > Diffusion
Also   > Table of Contents > 11 - Respiratory system > Acid-base balance.   
 (Allen, et al, 2012)
Klabunde, R, E. (2014) Chemoreceptors. Retrieved May 29, 2015  from
Cardiovascular Physiology Concepts: http://www.cvphysiology.com/Blood%20Pressure/BP014.htm
 (Klabunde, 2014)
Beers, M. F., Burri, P. H., Cherniak, N. S., & Elliot, D. H. (2012). 
 Human Respiratory SystemRetrieved August 15, 2012, from Encyclopaedia Britannica:  http://www.britannica.com/EBchecked/topic/499530/human- respiratory- system
Go to ‘Control of Breathing’
 
Beers,Burri,Cherniak, & Elliot, 2012)
 Question 7: Sputum Test
   
 American Association For Clinical Chemistry. (2014) Sputum culture.
Retrieved from Lab Tests Online Au  
(American Association for Clinical
Chemistry, 2014)
 
American Association For Clinical Chemistry. (2016) Susceptibility testing.
(American Association for Clinical
Chemistry, 2016)
 Question 8 : Renin Angiotensin System
   
Klabunde, R. E. (2014). Renin-angiotensin-aldosterone system.
Retrieved April 1th, 2015, from Cardiovascular Physiology Concepts: http://cvphysiology.com/Blood%20Pressure/BP015.htm
( Klabunde, 2014)
Allen, K. D., Berger, N., Cameron, R., Conley, Y. P., Cooper, K., Easter, A.,
et al.2012). Anatomy and Physiology  Made Incredibly Easy. Philadelphia: Lippincott Williams Wilkins.
Go to Table of Contents > 14 - Urinary system > Hormones and the urinary system > Renin-angiotensin system
 (Allen etal, 2012)
Ramipril. (2016). In AusDi. Retrieved  from AusDi http://ausdi.hcn.com.au.
          Log in to AusDi - Perform a search for the drug Ramipril - Choose the                      RamiprilGenerichealth option- Click on Mono- Scroll down to Pharmacology-          Pharmacokinetics. - Scroll down to  Mechanism of Action - Antihypertensive.                      The answer is contained in this paragraph.
 (Ramipril, 2016)
 
 Woods, A. (2003) An ACE up your sleeve. Nursing Made Incredibly Easy.
1(1):36-43 Retrieved from the OvidSP database.http://ovid.tx.ovid.com
     
 (Woods, 2003)
 Question 9 : Insulin and Blood Sugar               
   
Casey, G. (2011). The sugar disease – understanding type 2 diabetes
mellitus. Continuing Professional Development, 17(2), 17-21. Retrieved from CINAHL database   http://web.ebscohost.com
 (Casey, 2011)
Lazear, J., & Alford, J. (2015). Nursing management: Diabetes mellitis. In D. Brown & H.          Edwards. (Eds.), Lewis's medical surgical nursing. Assessment and management of clinical          problems (4th ed., pp. 1182-1183). Chatswood, Australia: Elseveir.
         Read: Normal Insulin Metabolism
(Lazear & Alford, 2015) Recommended text for this course
 Question 10 : Decreased AVPU
   
Forbes, H. (2013). Vital Signs. In J. Crisp, C. Taylor,  C. Douglas, & G. Rebeiro (Eds.),
, Potter and Perry's fundamentals of nursing (4th ed., pp. 658-702). Chatswood, Australia: Elsevier.
(Forbes, 2013). Recommended text for this course
Cartwright, C., Wells, I., Co Paler, M., & Cartwright, J. (2013). AVPU. Retrieved July
7, 2015, from Emergency Medical Paramedic: http://www.emergencymedicalparamedic.com/avpu/
(Cartwright, Wells, Co Paler, & Cartwright, 2013).
Johnson, V. Y., & Bonner, A. (2015). Nursing Assessment: Urinary System. In D. Brown, H.
Edwards, S.  (Eds.), Lewis's medical surgical nursing. Assessment and management of clinical problems (3rd ed., pp. 1226-1248). Chatswood, Australia: Elsevier.

Read: Table 44-7 Urinalysis, page 1243

(Johnson & Bonner, 2015). Recommended text for this course
Stoppler, M. C. (2016) Hypoglycaemia. Retrieved February 28, 2013.  From:
MedicineNet.com
 (Stoppler, 2016).
Mompoint-Williams, D., Watts, P. I., & Appel, S. J. (2012). Detecting and  treating 
hypoglycemia in patients with diabetes. Nursing 2012; 42 (8), 50-52.
Retrieved from Ovid Database http://ovid.tx.ovid.com  
(Mompoint-Williams, Watts, & Appel, 2012)
Kubacka, B. (2014). A balancing act. Achieving glycaemic control
in hospitalised patients.  Nursing, 2014 44 (1), 30-37.             
 Retrieved from Ovid Database  http://ovid.tx.ovid.com      
  (Kubacka, 2014 ) 

 

Librarian

Profile Image
Leanne Fischer
Contact Info
Phone: (07) 5581 8246 or
(07) 5581 8977
Send Email

Liaison Librarian

Profile Image
James Bligh
Contact Info
Phone: (07) 5581 8156
Email: james.bligh@.tafe.qld.edu.au
Send Email

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Richard Sturgess
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip